All Saints’ Church Presents $284,300 in College Scholarships to Local Students

Helping Martin County students to go on to college is a sacred mission for many members of All Saints’ Episcopal Church in Jensen Beach – also known as The Little Church on the Hill with a Big Heart. Thanks to the generosity of past and present parishioners who have established scholarship funds, All Saints’ Church presented at total of $284,200 in college scholarships to 27 high school seniors this year.


The LeDuc Scholarships & The Langran Memorial Scholarship

The Henry Sumner LeDuc Fund awarded a total of $31,500 in scholarships to 12 Jensen Beach High School seniors at the school’s Scholarship Night on April 20, 2017. Distributions from the LeDuc Fund as well as a grant from the Gladys Waaler Foundation are used for these scholarships, and they also include the annual Tony Langran Memorial Scholarship Award. The criteria utilized in selecting the recipients may include their efforts in school, civic, and religious activities; obstacles overcome; personal characteristics, and/or work experience.

The 2017 LeDuc Scholarship Awards were presented to:

  • Benjamin Vaclav Chalupa (Tony Langran Memorial Award winner)
  • Jermiah Charles Coleman
  • Yaissa Fernandez
  • Alex Kennedy
  • Carli Faith Lucius
  • Emily Jordan Martucci
  • Heidi Laurel Neff
  • Derrica Reed
  • Taylor Soviero
  • Cheyenne Summer Weese
  • Ryan Witherow
  • Daulton Elijah Young.

LeDuc Award Recipients


The Sirote Scholarships

Six seniors from the Jensen Beach High School graduating class of 2017 received coveted four-year college scholarships from the Sirote Charitable Foundation at the school’s Awards Night. These scholarships, which are awarded through the auspices of All Saints’ Episcopal Church in Jensen Beach, include $10,000 toward the student’s first year of college, renewable annually for up to three years for a total of $40,000.

The Sirote Charitable Foundation is a self-sustaining fund established in 2002 by Stanley Sirote. It began granting scholarships in conjunction with All Saints’ Episcopal Church in 2015 because of the founder’s fondness for Jensen Beach, where he had a vacation home for over 40 years.  The most influential factors in the selection of Sirote Awardees are Mr. Sirote’s personal values: honesty, integrity, vision, and evidence of hard work pursuing specific goals. These $40,000 awards are given annually to Jensen Beach graduating seniors entering a four-year accredited college or university.

The 2017 Sirote Foundation Scholarship recipients are as follows:

  • Jonathan Cooper
  • Jonathan Ryan Fowler
  • Gabrielle Jaqueline French
  • Jason Lance Loucks
  • Elise Taylor Mills
  • Melissa Kolaci.

Sirote Award Recipients


The DeFiore-Glover Scholarships

All Saints’ Church presented a total of $10,800 in college scholarships from the DeFiore-Glover Scholarship Fund to nine South Fork High School Seniors at the school’s Scholarship Awards Night on April 27th. This year, the fund increased the total amount of its awards by $2,400.

The DeFiore-Glover Scholarship Fund was created in 2010 through the generosity of the late Donald DeFiore and his partner of 51 years, Clarence “Buddy” Glover, a Martin County resident and member of All Saints’ Church. It was their wish to provide scholarships to worthy local students in need of a “financial lift.” Each year, the DeFiore-Glover Scholarship Fund Committee, comprised of members and clergy of All Saints’ Episcopal Church, selects the award recipients from a large pool of South Fork High School senior applicants based on the following criteria:

  1. Students of good character who display involvement in community affairs and school activities.
  2. Students who maintain solid grades and display potential for success in future studies and work.
  3. Students who qualify for scholarship monies based on a real need because of family circumstances or other hardships.

The 2017 DeFiore-Glover Scholarship Award recipients, each of whom received a $1,200 college scholarship, included:

  • Wilmer Andres
  • Zachary Archer
  • James Delano
  • Selena M. Ewing
  • Magdolena Diego Francisco
  • Lilyanne Rose Mancuso
  • Weedena Patrice
  • Bryanna Ruggiero
  • Lindsay Wiley.

DeFiore-Glover Award Recipients


One of Martin County’s largest donors

“All Saints’ Church is proud to be one of the largest sponsors of graduating seniors in our community thanks to the generous scholarship funds established by and in memory of former parishioners,” said Father Frisby. “The DeFiore-Glover, LeDuc and Sirote Scholarship recipients in the Class of 2017 are all exceptional young adults, and we wish them the very best of success in their college careers.”

All Saints’ Episcopal Church honored all the scholarship recipients at its Scholarship Sunday service on Sunday, May 7th. Afterward, the students planted a tree on the church campus that will serve as a permanent reminder of their achievements.